Gordon Lightfoot Book, Music and More!

The home of music journalist Nicholas Jennings, author of Lightfoot, the definitive new Gordon Lightfoot biography from Penguin Random House.
Web Design & Digital Marketing

Shakin' All Over: Canadian Pop Music in the 1960s

Shakin' All Over: Canadian Pop Music in the 1960s

The documentary is full of candid interviews with over 60 iconic figures like Gordon Lightfoot, Buffy Sainte-Marie and Bruce Cockburn, who offer illuminating stories about each other.

Shakin' All Over also features some of Canada's brightest younger stars, including Blue Rodeo, Barenaked Ladies and Sarah Harmer, who pay tribute to the period.

Special performance footage includes: "Early Morning Rain" Gordon Lightfoot, "Four Strong Winds" Ian & Sylvia, "Signs" Five Man Electrical Band, "These Eyes" The Guess Who, "Born to Be Wild" Steppenwolf, "Spinning Wheel" Blood, Sweat & Tears, "Walk That Walk" David Clayton-Thomas & the Shays, "Going to the Country" Bruce Cockburn, "Back on the Street" Murray McLauchlan, "California" Joni Mitchell, and "Heart of Gold" Neil Young.

The DVD bonus material features extended interviews with Randy Bachman, Burton Cummings, Anne Murray, Murray McLauchlan, Sylvia Tyson and others.

DVD Reviews

The Globe and Mail
January 18, 2008

This splendid documentary details that heady era when Canadian bands and artists ranked among the best in the world.

February 2008

Clear and thoroughly entertaining, it balances obscurities and crucial mentions with little-known facts and long-forgotten context.

Winnipeg Free Press
February 9, 2008

A lively romp through our rich musical heritage.

Eye weekly
February 20, 2008

This engaging doc collects ace archival footage from the dawning of Can-rock.

Chart magazine
January 22, 2008

Even if history isn't your favourite subject, you should be shakin' and stirred by this fine piece of work.

Liner Notes: Kensington Market - Aardvark
Liner Notes: Murray McLauchlan - Anthology

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://www.nicholasjennings.com/